What scares you?

For everything and anything that goes "bump" in the night or is unexplained.

Moderator: Valigarmander

Valigarmander
Supermod

What scares you?

Post by Valigarmander » Tue May 05, 2015 4:58 am

What are your deepest and most unsettling fears?
  • Losing my hands. As an artist, my hands are quite important to me, and I sometimes dread what my life would be like if I lost one or both of them. Prosthetics might be a help (or I could learn to write and draw with my feet), but nothing beats the originals.
  • On a similar note, going blind. As much as it would majorly suck to lose any one of my senses, I value sight above the rest.
  • Losing a loved one suddenly. My only experience so far with the death of someone very close to me was drawn out, and I had time to brace myself for when it finally happened. I don't know what I would do if I were to lose someone I love unexpectedly, in a freak accident or a killing or whatnot. A person here one day, everything normal, and then they're gone the next. I can't imagine what that would be like.
  • Losing my mind. One of my fears about growing old is the deterioration of memory, mental acuity, etc. It's not a given, I know some pretty sharp old people. But it's unsettling to imagine myself ever ending up in such a state.
  • I'm not afraid of dying myself, but I really don't want to die alone.

I am nobody

Post by I am nobody » Tue May 05, 2015 6:39 am

-Alzheimer's. Chances are it won't be an issue by the time I'm old enough to worry, but there's a lot of it in half of my family if it is still around. And there's the worry that people older than me will get it.
-It's not really a fear, but if we're the only universe, I find the concept of heat death rather unsettling. Most other theories or religious ideas about how it all ends leave some sort of possibility of things continuing to happen. With heat death in a single universe, that's just it. The remainder of eternity is stillness experienced by no one.