Windows 10 upgrade will be free to Windows 7/8 users the first year

Moderator: Jere

User avatar
LOOT
Banned
Posts: 22939
Joined: Mon May 28, 2001 1:00 am
Location: full time jail

Windows 10 upgrade will be free to Windows 7/8 users the first year

#1

Post by LOOT » Wed Mar 18, 2015 5:44 pm

http://www.gamespot.com/articles/window ... 0-6424784/

Obviously skepticism abound, upgrading the first year has some great risks since compatibility is always an issue early in the life of a system, but I'm not hearing too bad things of W10 so far

also that offer extends to pirated copies, amazingly

http://www.gamespot.com/articles/free-w ... 0-6425998/

User avatar
Thanous
Posts: 4006
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:22 pm
Location: pluto
Contact:

#2

Post by Thanous » Wed Mar 18, 2015 7:07 pm

Wb windows 9

what happened to that xD
Image

User avatar
New! Tazy Ten
Posts: 29104
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2000 1:00 am
Location: Not the Thunder Temple.
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 18 times
Contact:

#3

Post by New! Tazy Ten » Wed Mar 18, 2015 7:28 pm

^

http://bgr.com/2014/10/02/windows-10-vs-windows-9/

Long story short, "Windows 9" is used in code to determine is a computer is running Windows 95/98, and it was enough of an issue to change the name.

User avatar
I am nobody
Moderator
Posts: 12756
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:26 pm
Location: -89.97814998,-42.2333493
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 27 times

#4

Post by I am nobody » Wed Mar 18, 2015 7:41 pm

^There's got to be a better reason than that. You could just release version numbers as 'a9.xxx' instead of '9.xxx' and kill the problem. It's going to be a bigger issue for marketing to explain where 9 went than it would be to come up with a fix for something like that.

I'll probably install it on my laptop around release since it's currently running 8 and can't really get worse. I'm perfectly content with 7, but if 10 turns out to be at least comparable I'll probably upgrade my desktop as well just so I don't have to deal with it later.

User avatar
Jere
Moderator
Posts: 5552
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 2:25 pm
Location: South Lapland
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

#5

Post by Jere » Thu Mar 19, 2015 4:22 am

The detection doesn't really work that way and that was why they decided to move on with calling it 10 instead.

My guess is that it have something to do with different programs shows if it goes in compability mode in different ways.
Beep Boop absolutely not a bot!

User avatar
е и ժ е я
Supermod
Posts: 41114
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Enough. My tilde has tired and shall take its leave of you.
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

#6

Post by е и ժ е я » Thu Mar 19, 2015 7:51 am

^^ Microsoft can't retro-actively add new versions of windows into software that's already on the market, if it's not their software. It's easier this way. Otherwise, Windows 9 would be a nightmare for legacy support.
I muttered 'light as a board, stiff as a feather' for 2 days straight and now I've ascended, ;aughing at olympus and zeus is crying

User avatar
I am nobody
Moderator
Posts: 12756
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:26 pm
Location: -89.97814998,-42.2333493
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 27 times

#7

Post by I am nobody » Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:06 am

^I meant release 9 as 'a9.' Assuming the check is just looking at the first character of the version number, they'd be good as long as that's anything other than a 9. That's more or less what they did by just skipping to 10 and making it a 1 in front, anyway.

The best fix would've been to just give it a name that wasn't a number and go around both the code and marketing problems at the same time.

User avatar
glux
Posts: 9963
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 5:27 pm
Contact:

#8

Post by glux » Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:09 am

[QUOTE="I am nobody, post: 1524579, member: 34539"]The best fix would've been to just give it a name that wasn't a number and go around both the code and marketing problems at the same time.[/QUOTE]
Liiiiiiiiike?

Honestly, it's just easier to give it a number.
FTP

User avatar
X-3
Moderator
Posts: 23484
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 2:00 am
Location: noiɈɒɔo⅃
Been thanked: 26 times

#9

Post by X-3 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:59 am

Intriguing. I'll let others be the guinea pigs though.

User avatar
е и ժ е я
Supermod
Posts: 41114
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Enough. My tilde has tired and shall take its leave of you.
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

#10

Post by е и ժ е я » Fri Mar 20, 2015 9:59 am

[QUOTE="I am nobody, post: 1524579, member: 34539"]^I meant release 9 as 'a9.' Assuming the check is just looking at the first character of the version number, they'd be good as long as that's anything other than a 9. That's more or less what they did by just skipping to 10 and making it a 1 in front, anyway.

The best fix would've been to just give it a name that wasn't a number and go around both the code and marketing problems at the same time.[/QUOTE]

I'm guessing you don't actually know much about data storage? The variable is probably an integer, not a string, or more likely just a byte. I don't mean that to sound like condescension, but developers will typically substitute an integer (numeric value) where it is acceptable, as they do not require excess parsing. Using a string where it's not necessary eats up system memory as well as processing cycles and we're probably talking about things like the boot cycle/BIOS where essentially it needs to be the smallest and fastest possible. I do not know what the context is specifically, but it's probably just a problem that shouldn't be fixed unless you're happy to break or complicate legacy support on all new hardware unnecessarily.

If you want to know more about how variables work, it's different for every language (but we're talking assembly, and again the boot cycle, so they're not really going to have a full range of options) but this is a good reference point:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/47zceaw7.aspx

If I had to guess, this is probably a system that's been in place since Microsoft started marketing directly to consumers, so almost assuredly it would not need to be larger than a byte (256 possible values, including 0). This type of variable is one of the most commonly used in much older games, although it's also possible to store data as simply a bit which can be interpreted as true/false. In this regard, you could refer back to a bit for most possessions in a game like Zelda - a 0 or 1 is all that is necessary to determine whether or not the player has the flute, whereas a byte would be required to store the version of the sword, armor, rupees, etc.

If you've ever edited a game config file for a pc, mostly you're changing bit values interpreted based on their defined variable label.
I muttered 'light as a board, stiff as a feather' for 2 days straight and now I've ascended, ;aughing at olympus and zeus is crying

User avatar
I am nobody
Moderator
Posts: 12756
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:26 pm
Location: -89.97814998,-42.2333493
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 27 times

#11

Post by I am nobody » Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:33 am

[QUOTE="IDKFA, post: 1524774, member: 25415"]I'm guessing you don't actually know much about data storage? The variable is probably an integer, not a string, possibly just a byte. I don't mean that to sound like condescension, but developers will typically substitute an integer (numeric value) where it is acceptable, as they do not require excess parsing. Using a string where it's not necessary eats up system memory as well as processing cycles and we're probably talking about things like the boot cycle/BIOS where essentially it needs to be the smallest and fastest possible. I do not know what the context is specifically, but it's probably just a problem that shouldn't be fixed unless you're happy to break or complicate legacy support on all new hardware unnecessarily.

If you want to know more about how this works, it's different for every language (but we're talking assembly, and again the boot cycle, so they're not really going to have a full range of options) but this is a good reference point:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/47zceaw7.aspx[/QUOTE]

Yeah, but if you look at the article's source, they're not checking the direct version number (which does appear to lead with a byte). They're looking at the OS name.

Code: Select all

if(version.StartsWith("Windows 9"))
{ /* 95 and 98 */ }
else {
All they have to do is change that output to be literally anything other than a leading 9 and they're good. If we're looking at the actual version numbers, they're only up to 6.3.

User avatar
е и ժ е я
Supermod
Posts: 41114
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Enough. My tilde has tired and shall take its leave of you.
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

#12

Post by е и ժ е я » Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:43 am

^ That's not in the article itself, it is in a comment. No remark as to whether it is or is not the actual code or just a best guess, for that matter. No word from a confirmed Windows dev afaik, although claims have been made, but I have found similar code in use. The variable in the example code is wrong, though. Looks like that's a common call.

Probably just a marketing policy, then. They made the switch to numbers for some reason and they're sticking to it.
I muttered 'light as a board, stiff as a feather' for 2 days straight and now I've ascended, ;aughing at olympus and zeus is crying

User avatar
glux
Posts: 9963
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 5:27 pm
Contact:

#13

Post by glux » Fri Mar 20, 2015 1:36 pm

[QUOTE="X-3, post: 1524766, member: 27765"]Intriguing. I'll let others be the guinea pigs though.[/QUOTE]
The "real guinea pigs" have had Windows 10 for the majority of a year now.

Source: My Father-in-Law is an IT guy for VW and he needs to know how it works before it comes out.
FTP

User avatar
Jere
Moderator
Posts: 5552
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 2:25 pm
Location: South Lapland
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

#14

Post by Jere » Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:57 pm

[QUOTE="Glutexo, post: 1524790, member: 35833"]
Source: My Father-in-Law is an IT guy for VW and he needs to know how it works before it comes out.[/QUOTE]

Then tell me why they incorporated the bloody anti theft thingy in the radio, you can't attach a Aux dongle to it without the radio locks itself up!
Beep Boop absolutely not a bot!

User avatar
glux
Posts: 9963
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 5:27 pm
Contact:

#15

Post by glux » Sat Mar 21, 2015 10:15 am

Not for the cars, you donut. For the workers' laptops.
FTP

User avatar
е и ժ е я
Supermod
Posts: 41114
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Enough. My tilde has tired and shall take its leave of you.
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

#16

Post by е и ժ е я » Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:29 am

Gluxdad confirmed for making all VW cars
I muttered 'light as a board, stiff as a feather' for 2 days straight and now I've ascended, ;aughing at olympus and zeus is crying

User avatar
Scarecrow
Moderator
Posts: 7240
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 1:52 pm
Location: I don't even know
Has thanked: 7 times

#17

Post by Scarecrow » Sun Mar 22, 2015 2:29 am

I'd be into that, then I could go into the Lambo department.

User avatar
ScottyMcGee
Posts: 5216
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 10:28 pm
Location: New Jersey
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

#18

Post by ScottyMcGee » Tue Mar 24, 2015 4:28 pm

For Christ's sake my work still uses XP.
SUPER FIGHTING ROBOT

User avatar
NintendoNut
Posts: 8719
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2002 2:00 am
Location: Always somewhere
Contact:

#19

Post by NintendoNut » Mon Jun 01, 2015 5:13 pm

July 29th is the release date for the full version of Windows 10, you can 'reserve' your free upgrade now via a little Windows icon on the system tray.

http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2015/06 ... -come-out/
I donated to VGF and all I got was this one-liner

User avatar
LOOT
Banned
Posts: 22939
Joined: Mon May 28, 2001 1:00 am
Location: full time jail

#20

Post by LOOT » Mon Jun 01, 2015 6:18 pm

Been hearing pretty good things. Will probably upgrade right away.

Post Reply

Return to “Computer Gaming & Tech”